## **BRIEF PROFILE**



Name of the Scientist	Dr. (Mrs.) K. SARALA
Designation	Principal Scientist & Head i/c, Division of Crop Improvement
Personal Information	
	Date of birth: 27.10.1965 Email: sarala.ctri@gmail.com;
	K.Sarala @icar.gov.in
	Telphone No. (O): 0883-2449871-4 Ext. 123 Mobile No: 9849726890
Educational	M. Sc. (Ag.), Ph. D, PGDTMA
Qualification	
Discipline	Agricultural Biotechnology
Date of joining in ICAR	23.11.1992
Service Particulars	Scientist (1992-1993, ICAR-NAARM; 1993, ICAR-IARI; 1993-2000, ICAR-CTRI); Sr. Scientist (2000-2008, ICAR-CTRI); Principal Scientist (2008-til date, ICAR-CTRI); Head, Division of Crop Improvement (2015-2020, ICAR-CTRI)
Areas of expertise for consultancy purpose (3 bullets)	<ul><li>Tobacco Breeding</li><li>Tobacco Biotechnology</li><li>Genetic resource management</li></ul>
Research Publications (top 10 published in scientific journals with NAAS rating)	<ol> <li>Sarala K and Rao R V S. 2008. Genetic diversity in Indian FCV and burley tobacco cultivars. <i>Journal of Genetics</i> 87(2):159-163.</li> <li>Sarala K, Rao R V S, Murthy T G K and Satyavani J V R. 2008. Micropropagation of sterile and non-flowering <i>Nicotiana</i> lines. <i>Cytologia</i> 73(1):9-13.</li> <li>Sarala, K., K. Nagarajan, N.S. Murthy, M. Anuradha, K. Siva Raju, H. Ravisanker, A.I. Narayanan and G.S.B. Prasannasimha Rao. 2005. Yield improvement in black soil virginia tobacco (<i>Nicotiana tabacum</i> L.). <i>Indian Journal of Genetics and Plant Breeding</i> 65(1): 33-36.</li> <li>Swarnalatha G, Sarala K, Prabhakara Rao K, Baghyalakshmi K, Sambasiva Rao K R S and Poorna Bindu J. 2020. Parasitic interactions of <i>Orobanche</i> with selected <i>Nicotiana</i> species and identification of effective resistant genotypes. <i>Genetic Resources and Crop Evolution</i> 67 (5): 1125-1136.</li> <li>H. Ravisankar, K. Sarala, V. Krishnamurthy and R.V.S. Rao. 2009. A software system for tobacco germplasm data (SSTG). <i>Plant Genetic Resources</i> 7(2): 139-141.</li> <li>Ravisankar, H., K. Sarala and T. G. K. Murthy. 2012. Knowledge-based system for rainfed natu tobacco (<i>Nicotiana tabacum</i>) germplasam. <i>Indian Journal of Agricultural Sciences</i> 82 (8): 702-5.</li> <li>Rao, R.V.S., T. Venkateswarlu, K. Sarala and T.G.K. Murthy. 2001. Status of resistant germplasm in tobacco and <i>Nicotiana</i> species. <i>Indian Journal of Plant Genetic Resources</i> 14: 174-175.</li> <li>Sarala K, Prabhakara Rao K, Murthy T G K, Chandra Sekhara Rao C, Damodar Reddy D and Ravisankar H. 2016. Yield gains in Indian flue-cured virginia tobacco: A case study. <i>International Journal of Agriculture Sciences</i> 8 (52): 2538-2541.</li> </ol>

	<ol> <li>Baghyalakshmi K, Sarala K, Prabhakara Rao K, Damodar Reddy D, Chandrasekhara Rao C, Soni P, Vinay P, Kiran G and Santinandivelu K. 2018. Genetic. Diversity in tobacco genotypes evaluated under All India Network Project. <i>Multilogic in Science</i> Viii (Issue Special): 30-34.</li> <li>Sarala K and Prabhakara Rao K. 2018. Detection and characterization of tobacco leaf curl virus isolates infecting FCV tobacco in India. <i>Tobacco Research</i> 44(2):78-82.</li> </ol>
Awards/ Honours/ Recognitions (in bullets)	<ul> <li>ISTS Gold medal, Indian Society of Tobacco Sciences (ISTS), Rajahmundry (2000)</li> <li>Tobacco Board Award, ISTS, Rajahmundry (2005)</li> <li>Fellow, Society of Applied Biotechnology, Krishnagiri (2012)</li> <li>Plant biotechnologist award, Society for Education and Scientific Research, Kerala (2014)</li> <li>Women Research Award, International Organization for Scientific Research and Development, Chennai (2018)</li> <li>Teaching and Research Excellence Award, IRDP group of Journals, Chennai (2017)</li> <li>Distinguished Scientist Award (Plant Biotechnology), Venus International Foundation, Chennai (2017)</li> <li>Fellowship of the year Award 2018, National Academy of Environmental Sciences (NAES), New Delhi (2018)</li> <li>Best Research Paper Award, Farmers orientation Towards Climate Change and Upgrading to Sustainable Agriculture (FOCUS 2019, Life Sciences Society, Hyderabad (2019)</li> <li>Fellow, Indian Society of Tobacco Sciences, Rajahmundry (2019)</li> <li>Fellow, Indian Society of Tobacco Sciences, Rajahmundry (2019)</li> <li>ISTS Award for the biennium 2015-16, ISTS, Rajahmundry</li> <li>Bharat Ratna Mother Therisa Gold Medal Award, Economic Progress and Research Association, Tiruvannamalai (2021)</li> <li>Best poster award, XV National Symposium on Tobacco-2019 (2019)</li> <li>Member Board of Studies of Government College (Autonomous), Rajahmundry during 2008-till date for Botany, zoology and Biotechnology departments</li> <li>Member Board of Studies of Adikavi Nannaya University, Rajahmundry for M. Sc. (Botany, zoology and Biotechnology).</li> <li>IBSC member, Dr.YSRHU, Venkataramannagudem</li> <li>Task Force Member, Tobacco DUS guidelines, PPV&amp;FR, Authority, New Delhi</li> <li>Executive member, Indian Society of Tobacco Science for the period 2007-09 and 2011-13</li> </ul>